#ForTheArts Why art is important

Context:

Today I heard about a $300 million dollar cut to The National Endowment for the Arts and Humanities in America. Now I am not American, so how does this affect me?

I’ll tell you why… but first.

What this will cut do to artists?

This will cause nothing, but harm to an industry that’s already difficult to get into and make a living in. Most artists go into this industry knowing that they won’t get support (I know I did.) but this will not only scare people into avoiding the industry, but it will also make so than art won’t be supported in schools. I know that not everyone wishes to pursue the creative arts, but without that support the ones who actually do… won’t get the support they need.

Why Art is important

Art has and always will be the biggest influence on culture. Art has the ability to tell a story, convey an emotion and most importantly… give an experience that can be unforgettable. Art gives people the freedom to express themselves fully, and show the world the inner them.

Art is subjective and can give people a different experience from the usual stale strife of life. Life is boring and art is vibrant. Art lets people enter new worlds, meet new people and can take you on a journey, and it doesn’t matter what art medium you pursue whether it’s Visual Art, Writing, Music, Film and lord knows how many art forms there are.

Art is Pure Expression.

Why art is important… to me.

I honestly don’t know where I’d be without art. Art has given me a reason to keep on going. Art has given me the ability to introduce new characters and places to others.

Art has given me the ability to let go, and showcase the inner workings of myself to the world. The Violence and the Psychological Torture is out of head and put into the pages. Art has given people the ability to enter my mind and understand me, better than if I told someone.

Art has given me so much, but I have given it little. So this is why I’m writing this post, because without it… Stories like Evicted and The Void Walker, simply wouldn’t exist… and I don’t want art to die.

Thanks

I would like to thank the people at Patreon for starting this, and bringing this to my attention.

Patreon: http://www.patreon.com

People Of The Arts: www.peopleforthearts.org

If you wish you can check out my stuff.

Patreon Page: https://www.patreon.com/jedwalker

The Void Walker: https://jedwalkerblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/17/the-void-walker-a-short-surreal-story/

Evicted (US Store): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYWD8CD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

